top of page
Search
  • petersak5625

Graduate School Options



For me, getting a bachelor's degree is not enough. I want to push myself to get a higher degree. To do this, there are a few options for me. The first option would be to go to a graduate school and get my masters in school psychology. If I go through with getting my masters, I would be working in a school and helping the students and teachers succeed. This would be something that I would very much love to do, because I love children and working in a school would be an amazing atmosphere that I would thrive in. There are a few schools on my list that would give me a masters degree in school psychology. My first option would be going to UW-Eau Claire. Going to this school would be the most comfortable option because I already go to UW-Eau Claire, and I already have a foundation here. I would not need to move to another area, and I would get to stay by the people I already know. The other option on my list for my masters in School Psychology would be to go to UW-La Crosse. This would be a little more difficult because I would have to move to a different town and get new jobs, meet new people, get a new place to live, and more. This is why going to UW- Eau Claire is more appealing to me because I will not have to move to a different town. The second option for higher education would be for me to get my doctorate as either a PsyD or a PhD. If I were to get a PhD I would become a college teacher for school psychology, and have a more research based degree. If I get a PsyD, I could become a school psychologist, and still have research or teaching on the side. Fortunately, there are schools that are available for both of these. If I were to get a PhD, I could go to UW-Madison, where they offer a degree in educational psychology. It would be a little harder to get into, but I could also go to UC- Santa Barbara for a PhD in school psychology. For a PsyD, one of the schools that I would like to potentially go to would be JMU-Virginia. This school is one of the tougher ones to get into because they accept a small number of people per year, but it is the most ideal program for me. They offer PsyD's in both clinical psychology and school psychology. It would be a very big challenge for me to go to school in a completely different state, but the benefits outweigh the hardship of the move. I will be applying to about 5 of these schools, and then I will decide from which ones I get accepted into to where I will end up going.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page