top of page
Search
  • petersak5625

The Next Steps

Since I graduate in the upcoming spring, there are some next steps that I need to take to further my career. I would like to have a career in Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) so I will need to get my masters in ABA therapy and eventually become a Board Certified Behavior Analyst. If you have been keeping up with my previous blogs you would know that this is something that has recently changed. I used to want to be a school psychologist which I would also need to go to graduate school for but for 3 years instead of 2. It recently changed because I realized through experience that I very much enjoy ABA therapy and want to learn as much about it as possible. Because of the switch, the graduate schools that I previously wanted to apply to no longer could be put into consideration because they did not have the ABA program. I found new colleges that did have the ABA program, but the options were very limited. The first one I found was Northern Michigan University.

This university is in Marquette, Michigan, with an acceptance rate of 67%. This university is a very good option for me but the acceptance rate is smaller than I would hope for, which makes it harder for me to get into this specific school. Another thing about this school is that the tuition is the most expensive out of the options I have, and living costs would be very expensive as well.

Another school that I applied to is Michigan State University.

This university is in East Lansing, Michigan. The acceptance rate is higher than NMU at 76%, which means I have a higher chance of getting into this university. The tuition is about the same as Northern Michigan University, but the living costs are significantly cheaper than in Marquette. The last university that I applied to is St. Cloud State.

This college is in St. Cloud, Minnesota with an acceptance rate of 73%.


This is an alright acceptance rate, but I would really like to get into this specific university because I think their program is very thorough and it would allow me to learn everything I need to to be a Behavior Analyst. The low living costs are another reason why I want to get into this university the most. If I do not get into any universities I will be working for another year trying to get my experience up to be more qualified to get into a university next year!






2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page